Why your startup necessarily needs a CRM solution

Why your startup necessarily needs a CRM solution

Every startup finds itself stretched pretty thin resource-wise. So CRM is maybe not at the top of your To-Do list. Chief among these is likely to be: Does our startup need CRM now, or will later be okay? This article shines some much-needed light on the questions surrounding CRM and startups.

What you will learn in this article

  • What is CRM exactly?
  • The benefits of startup CRM
  • The CRM challenges a startup may face
  • How to find the correct CRM for your startup
  • How to get started with CRM

What is CRM?

CRM means Customer Relationship Management. It comprises two separate but connected parts.

  • The methodology – CRM’s most well-known component is its ‘big picture approach to customer relationships. It pulls together all your touchpoints and interactions with people related to your business. This comprises all your customer-facing departments, such as marketing, sales, customer support, HR, and public relations.
  • CRM as a tool – Along with the ethos, CRM is the central hub where interactions get logged and analyzed. Without CRM, a hot lead can quickly cool because you didn’t follow up promptly. Or you forget an essential detail and lose a sale.

What are the benefits of startup CRM?

CRM for startups and other small businesses will enable you to quickly and accurately gauge your sales pipeline’s health. A CRM can also be massively beneficial if you are a solopreneur. The CRM effectively becomes your ‘wingman. It will keep you updated on what’s happening day-to-day and remind you about important business stuff that needs your attention.

The leading CRM benefits for a startup or small business include:

  • Finding customers for your product or service
  • Managing all your contacts and conversations
  • Forging solid and longer-lasting relationships with customers
  • Improving your overall customer experience

It does all of the above and more by allowing you to do the following.

Build stronger relationships

As a startup, you are at a fledgling advantage by having detailed conversations with all or most of your customers and leads. But when your customer base grows, you need something to support you. CRM does this by:

  • Grouping and sorting conversations
  • Keeping all your notes, email, and other data in one place
  • Alerting you when you need to contact someone

Prepare for business growth

As your company grows, so does your sales team. The less time they spend chasing down customer data, the more time they spend with customers and closing sales.

With a CRM system, your sales team has instant access to customer records and the historical data of customers, leads, and prospects. You can also use CRM for speedy onboarding of new staff.

Focus on what matters

A CRM will help you expend your time and energy more efficiently by concentrating on what’s meaningful and most profitable. With so much going on for startups, it’s easy to get distracted with tasks that can wait.

You can change course swiftly

CRM is an excellent means of troubleshooting your business and identifying underperforming areas. A CRM system is good at spotting patterns and then producing actionable insights to boost sales.

CRM challenges for startups

Committing yourself to a CRM system is no easy task for a startup. You, quite naturally, have doubts and are worried if it’s the best way to spend your budget.

  • Isn’t it too early for a CRM system?

If you don’t have a busload of customers quite yet, it’s easy to put off investing in CRM. But just-in-time doesn’t apply. By focusing early on your customer relationships with CRM, you can grow faster and get the jump on the competition.

  • Can we afford CRM?

A better question to pose might be, can you afford not to have a CRM system. Cloud CRMs are cost-efficient for startups and small businesses. They are charged per user and relatively inexpensive for what you get.

  • The existing isn’t broken yet; why change?

Sticking with a manual system is a risky strategy, particularly when you factor in business growth. It’s inherently error-prone and time-consuming.

How to pick out the right CRM for your startup

The trick with picking out the right CRM for your business is selecting the one with the right mix of features that you need. Not the one with the most whistles and bells. As a minimum, you will need:

  • Reports and forecasting – Visual reporting and forecasting will give you deep insight into your business.
  • Automation – You can free up substantial staff time on admin by automating your sales process.
  • Easy user onboarding – CRM offers a unique insight into your business which is perfect for getting new staff up to speed quickly.
  • Business data security – A CRM plays a pivotal role in the privacy and security of customer data. Dive deep into how a CRM provider guarantees data security.

How to get started with CRM

CRM is the widely acknowledged route to delighting customers and cementing strong customer relationships for the long haul.

Selecting the right CRM for your startup can seem like a long and involved process. But it isn’t really. The best way to get visibility to make an informed choice is by trying out the system on a free trial. These are usually 14-days and are a no-risk method to evaluate a provider’s system by getting hands-on experience.

Verdict

CRM is as crucial for startups as it is for any small business or large corporation. There’s no such thing as ‘too early when it comes to CRM. The price tag plays a massive part in a startup’s decision-making process. But don’t get too fixated on the cost and focus instead on the Return on Investment.

For startups and other small businesses, the most cost-efficient CRM will always be a cloud-based CRM solution. These are inexpensive, easy to implement and run, accessible anywhere, and can scale up quickly to match your business growth. But before you do anything else, contact us today. We are the cloud CRM experts and laser-focused on providing a small business-friendly CRM service.

Article
Sep 25, 2021

Team Samdock

More from this category:

10 great CRM time-saving tips to improve your business

10 great CRM time-saving tips to improve your business

A CRM system is a fantastic way to free up time for your sales staff. Time not spent on routine admin tasks is time they can spend interacting with customers instead. A CRM solution, then, is more than monitoring and managing your sales pipeline. It's way more helpful...

10 ways small businesses should use CRM for better performance

10 ways small businesses should use CRM for better performance

Engaging with existing customers in an impactful way and re-energizing previous buyers can be a challenge for most small businesses. But with the right CRM system in your corner, the solution will empower you to do both. And, at the same time, help you develop more...

Warum dein Startup unbedingt eine CRM-Lösung braucht

Warum dein Startup unbedingt eine CRM-Lösung braucht

Jedes Startup ist mit seinen Ressourcen ziemlich knapp bemessen. Daher steht CRM vielleicht nicht ganz oben auf deiner To-do-Liste. Die zentrale Frage ist aber vermutlich die: Braucht unser Startup CRM jetzt, oder geht es auch später? Dieser Artikel wirft das dringend erforderliche Scheinwerferlicht auf die Fragen rund um CRM und Startups.

Was du in diesem Artikel lernen kannst

  • Was genau ist CRM?
  • Die Vorteile von CRM für Startups
  • Die CRM-Herausforderungen, denen sich ein Startup stellen muss
  • Wie man mit CRM anfängt

Was ist CRM eigentlich?

CRM bedeutet Customer Relationship Management (Kundenbeziehungsmanagement). Das Konzept umfasst zwei separate, aber miteinander verbundene Teile.

  • Die Methodik – Die bekannteste Komponente von CRM ist der “ganzheitliche Ansatz” für Kundenbeziehungen. Es fasst alle Berührungspunkte und Interaktionen mit Menschen zusammen, die mit dem Unternehmen in Verbindung stehen. Dazu gehören alle Abteilungen, die in Kontakt mit Kunden stehen, wie Marketing, Vertrieb, Kundendienst, Personalwesen und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.
  • CRM als Werkzeug – Neben dem Ethos ist CRM der zentrale Knotenpunkt, an dem Interaktionen protokolliert und analysiert werden. Ohne CRM kann ein heißer Lead schnell erkalten, da man nicht rechtzeitig Folgemaßnahmen ergriffen hat. Oder es wird ein wichtiges Detail vergessen und ein Auftrag geht verloren.

Welche Vorteile hat CRM für Startups?

CRM für Startups und andere kleine Unternehmen ermöglicht es dir, den Zustand deiner Vertriebspipeline jederzeit schnell und genau zu beurteilen. Ein CRM kann auch für Einzelunternehmer von enormem Nutzen sein. Das CRM wird letztendlich zu deinem “Wingman”. Es hält dich auf dem Laufenden über das Tagesgeschehen und erinnert dich an wichtige geschäftliche Dinge, die du noch zu erledigen hast.

Zu den wichtigsten CRM-Vorteilen für ein Startup oder ein kleines Unternehmen gehören

  • Das Finden von Kunden für dein Produkt oder deine Dienstleistung
  • Verwaltung all deiner Kontakte und Konversationen
  • Aufbau solider und langfristiger Beziehungen zu Kunden
  • Verbesserung der allgemeinen Kundenerfahrung

All das lässt sich mit einem CRM-System erreichen. Damit ist aber nicht genug, außerdem kannst du dich noch auf folgende Vorteile freuen.

Aufbau stärkerer Beziehungen

Als Startup hast du einen großen Wettbewerbsvorteil, wenn du mit allen oder den meisten deiner Kunden und Interessenten ausführliche Gespräche führst. Wenn jedoch dein Kundenstamm wächst, brauchst du etwas, das dich bei dieser Aufgabe unterstützt. CRM leistet genau das durch:

  • Gruppierung und Sortierung von Gesprächen
  • Aufbewahren aller Notizen, E-Mails und anderen Daten an einem Ort
  • Benachrichtigungen, wenn du jemanden kontaktieren musst

Vorbereitung auf das Unternehmenswachstum 

Wenn dein Unternehmen wächst, wächst auch dein Vertriebsteam. Und je weniger Zeit es mit der Suche nach Kundendaten verbringt, desto mehr Zeit kann es für Kundengespräche und Verkaufsabschlüsse aufwenden.

Mit einem CRM-System hat dein Vertriebsteam sofortigen Zugriff auf Kundendatensätze und die historischen Daten von Kunden, Leads und Interessenten. Außerdem lässt sich CRM auch für eine schnellere Einarbeitung neuer Mitarbeiter nutzen.

Fokus auf das Wesentliche

Ein CRM hilft dir, deine Zeit und Energie effizienter zu nutzen, indem du dich auf das konzentrierst, was wirklich sinnvoll und profitabel ist. Bei der Fülle an Aufgaben, die ein Startup zu bewältigen hat, ist es leicht, sich durch Aufgaben ablenken zu lassen, die warten könnten.

Möglichkeiten, den Kurs schnell zu ändern

CRM ist ein hervorragendes Mittel zur Fehlersuche in deinem Unternehmen und zur Identifizierung von Bereichen, in denen die Leistung nicht stimmt. Ein CRM-System ist gut darin, Muster zu erkennen und dann umsetzbare Erkenntnisse zur Steigerung des Umsatzes zu liefern.

CRM-Herausforderungen für Startups

Die Entscheidung für ein CRM-System ist für ein Startup keine leichte Aufgabe. Natürlich kommen Zweifel auf und man macht sich Gedanken darüber, ob man sein Budget nun wirklich richtig einsetzt.

  • Ist es nicht noch zu früh für ein CRM-System?

Wenn du noch nicht so viele Kunden hast, ist es leicht, die Investition in ein CRM-System aufzuschieben. Aber “just-in-time” gibt es nicht. Wenn du dich frühzeitig auf deine Kundenbeziehungen mit CRM konzentrierst, kannst du schneller wachsen und der Konkurrenz stets einen Schritt voraus sein.

  • Können wir uns CRM leisten?

Eine bessere Frage wäre: Kannst du es dir leisten, kein CRM-System zu haben? Cloud-CRMs sind für Startups und kleine Unternehmen meist eine gute, kostengünstige Option. Sie werden pro Benutzer abgerechnet und sind daher relativ preiswert für das, was man bekommt.

  • Das Bestehende ist noch nicht kaputt, warum also wechseln?

Das Festhalten an einem manuellen System ist eine riskante Strategie, vor allem, wenn man das Wachstum des Unternehmens berücksichtigt. Es ist von Natur aus fehleranfällig und zeitaufwendig.

Wie du das richtige CRM für dein Startup auswählst

Der Trick bei der Auswahl des richtigen CRMs für dein Unternehmen besteht darin, das System mit der richtigen Mischung von Funktionen auszuwählen, die du brauchst. Und nicht das mit dem meisten Schnickschnack. Folgende Features sollten aber unbedingt vorhanden sein: 

  • Berichte und Prognosen – Visuelle Berichte und Prognosen geben einen tiefen Einblick in dein Unternehmen.
  • Automatisierung – Durch die Automatisierung deines Vertriebsprozesses kannst du deinen Mitarbeitern viel Zeit für die Verwaltung abnehmen.
  • Einfaches Onboarding – CRM bietet einen einzigartigen Einblick in dein Unternehmen und eignet sich ideal, um neue Mitarbeiter schnell einzuarbeiten.
  • Sicherheit der Unternehmensdaten – Ein CRM spielt eine entscheidende Rolle für den Datenschutz und die Sicherheit der Kundendaten. Achte also bei der Wahl unbedingt darauf, dass das System DSGVO-konform ist.

Die ersten Schritte mit CRM

CRM ist ein allgemein anerkannter Weg, um Kunden zu begeistern und starke Kundenbeziehungen langfristig zu festigen.

Die Auswahl des richtigen CRMs für dein Unternehmen kann wie ein langwieriger und komplizierter Prozess erscheinen. Aber das ist es nicht wirklich. Der beste Weg, sich einen Überblick zu verschaffen und eine fundierte Entscheidung zu treffen, ist das Ausprobieren des Systems in einer kostenlosen Testphase. Diese sind in der Regel 14 Tage lang und stellen eine risikofreie Methode dar, um das System eines Anbieters zu bewerten und praktische Erfahrungen zu sammeln.

Fazit

CRM ist für Startups ebenso wichtig wie für kleine Unternehmen oder große Konzerne. Es gibt kein “zu früh”, wenn es um CRM geht. Der Preis spielt dennoch eine große Rolle im Entscheidungsprozess eines Startups. Man sollte sich jedoch nicht zu sehr auf die Kosten fixieren und sich stattdessen auf den Return on Investment konzentrieren.

Für Startups und andere kleine Unternehmen wird das kosteneffizienteste CRM immer eine cloudbasierte CRM-Lösung sein. Diese sind zudem einfach zu implementieren und zu betreiben, überall verfügbar und lassen sich schnell an das Wachstum deines Unternehmens anpassen. Aber bevor du jetzt irgendetwas anderes tust, kontaktiere uns noch heute. Wir sind die Cloud-CRM-Experten und haben uns auf die Bereitstellung eines CRM-Dienstes für kleine Unternehmen spezialisiert.

Artikel | Artikel
Sep 25, 2021

Team Samdock

More from this category: